> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Well, I guess I知 last
Login | Register

Well, I guess I知 last

Posted by TomR on September 17th, 1999 11:26 AM
In reply to Introductions by Dave in Illinois on September 8th, 1999 12:51 PM [Go to top of thread]

I live just north of Philadelphia, PA, USA. I grew up in San Diego, where up through college I worked with my Dad building cabins in the mountains near Idylwild. My degrees are in Aerospace and Electrical Engineering, which only means I can change light bulbs all by myself, and make really cool paper airplanes for my kids.

Like many who cannot decide which aspect of engineering to be in, I ended up in the computer business. I design computer systems for a living. My job consists of evaluating hardware and software components for my employer, and designing systems to leverage their technologies.

I have lived on the East Coast since 1986. I have built many additions and the like, but never as my trade. One of my prize projects was a 220 year-old row home in downtown Phila. What a learning experience! I have done just about everything on building projects, but could never do it for a living, as I am too slow. Within the last couple of years I have become interested in residential architecture, and as a result purchased a professional CAD package. I use it a great deal to help friends and family with their remodels and additions.

I consider myself talented enough to realize these points: 1) I知 not afraid to admit when I知 over my head, and seek the help of professionals. And 2) I always get the necessary permits from my township.