> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > To Answer Your Question (in a long way) ...
Login | Register

To Answer Your Question (in a long way) ...

Posted by Jay J on December 29th, 1997 08:45 AM
In reply to Final Walk-Through (First-Time Homebuyers) by Jo Mark on December 26th, 1997 08:34 PM [Go to top of thread]

Jo Mark,

I'm no expert but having worked at a lending institution for over 2 years and by going through a Home Buyers Class that spanned 12 hours of lectures and presentations about buying an existing home or having one built, I feel as though I can offer some sound advice.

To start, it's a shame that a lot more people don't spend a little time and $$$ in educating themselves as you are. It's invaluable. Buyers are willing to spend 100, 200, or more THOUSAND dollars, probably once in their life, and they won't spend a couple of thousand dollars on a home inspector, a lawyer, or even a buyer/agent. (On my philosophical soapbox now ...) If you don't need a lawyer to look over your paperwork at closing, then why does the bank do it all the time!? And they're in the business of lending $$$ for home buyers. They shouldn't need one, right? (Yeah, right!) Why does FHA have the homes they may loan money on so tightly inspected BEFORE they approve a loan? In both cases, when it comes to the bank and the FHA, they're having their interests protected! Not yours! And so should you, the homebuyer, have your interests covered. You can't convince me otherwise unless you're a homebuyer that's a lawyer and a home inspector and a lender. If I had $1.00 for every person that came to me and said they'd wished they'd had an attorney look over their paperwork or a home inspector look at the house before they bought, or shopped around for a mortgage, I'd be kicking sand in the Carribean right now. OK. Now to answer your question, Jo Mark.