> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > thoughts...
Login | Register

Posted by jb on June 18th, 2001 02:34 PM
In reply to Air Conditioner leaking!!! Please help. by Pam on June 18th, 2001 08:52 AM [Go to top of thread]

I just got an AC quote from Sears and I was very tempted to report him to the State Attorney General for being a complete shyster! He was telling me the size unit I needed over the phone. He asked me "What kind of house do you have?", I said "Colonial" and he said "you need at least a 3.5 - 4 ton unit." Well, enough rant...

The condensation problem you have doesn't sound like a major big thing. The condensation needs to be collected, put in a pump, and ejected. If it is failing at one of these points, or needs more maintenance or reconfiguration then someone should be able to come in and fix it, done. I have a hard time believing that a malfunctioning condensation situation could be the cause of needing a new unit. This doesn't sound right. I'm not an HVAC pro but this sounds like a pile of dung to me.

Converting to oil might not be the way to go. You would need a chimney going up through the roof and it doesn't sound like you have one if you have a heat pump. Some gas furnaces have cool direct vent setups where you can just go out through the sidewall. This is a pretty big decision and a complicated one too. There are many factors to consider. I would ask all your friends if who their heating/cooling contractors are and how they like/trust them. Pick one, have him fix the condensation situation and make general recommendations/price quotes. More people will chime in on this whole question.