> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Thermo-ply
Login | Register

Posted by William Small on October 14th, 2002 12:29 AM
In reply to looks like junk to me... by jb on July 18th, 2001 10:27 AM [Go to top of thread]

11 of 13 people found this post helpful

I am a professional structural engineer involved in condition assessment of existing buildings... that's what I do for a living. I have found Thermo-ply on several occasions and have walked away with the same impression each time, which is that this product has some problems. It appears to be an inexpensive solution to sheathing and must be used with caution. Here are a few specific reasons why I dislike the product:
1) It disintegrates rapidly and loses strength when exposed to water; this is not what is in the manufacturer's literature, but I've seen it first hand. If you imagine taking a cardboard box, even a strong box, and letting it get wet... well, we all know what happens to the cardboard, right? Well, this is no different. When this product gets wet it goes through very much the same physical changes that the cardboard box goes through. It warps, it swells, and it turns to mush! BE CAREFUL ABOUT HOW IT IS PROTECTED FROM MOISTURE DAMAGE (during storage on site, after installation but prior to siding, and how it is wrapped or flashed after installation).