renovateyourworld.com > Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > The Keys ...
Login | Register

The Keys ...

Posted by Jay J -Moderator on March 12th, 2001 08:50 AM
In reply to garden power supply by Koiperson on March 11th, 2001 12:58 PM [Go to top of thread]

Hi Koiperson,

I'm no Electrician so I can only speak from experience. As to using an RV Power Converter for your purposes, again, I can't speak from that. Hence, obviously, if you get no answer on the Forum, how 'bout visiting an RV Shop for information. My 'gut' says that you shouldn't have a problem but my gut isn't any part of the Scientific Method ...

ANYWAYS, the key is to be sure you have the proper Voltage at the END of the run. There are formulas that you need to use to figure out the length and type of wire you need for the job. You see, the longer the wire-run, the more power loss you have. Therefore, if it turns out that your converter won't power up what you're looking to power up, you need to either change the wattage, shorten the run, or some combination of both.

You make mention of "four different power supplies". Does this mean you have 4 'plugs' to use off of the converter??? If so, what I've already said still remains true. The GUAGE of the wire, its length, and the amout of wattage need to be figured out whether or not you use 1 plug (for your plans), or 4 plugs. In short, you may find you've maxed-out your converter with just the 35 walkway lights. If you add up your wattage, you have 35x9=315 watts PLUS 35x4=140 watts. That's a total of 455 watts. IF you know the output of your RV Converter, you'll know (from the outset, what you can do.