> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Supradur roofing and insurance company
Login | Register

Supradur roofing and insurance company

Posted by Hugh Rice Kelly on January 18th, 2003 09:09 PM
In reply to asbestos shingle roof by Ann Clemmer on November 19th, 2002 10:47 AM [Go to top of thread]

3 of 3 people found this post helpful

Moderator Post (s) for this thread:
> Asbestos Siding by thiggy on 12/07/2006

I am not a professional, but have been an avid home improver and observer for more than 40 of my 60 years. During that time, every asbestos-cement roof I ever noticed is still in place and doing well. The only losses have been on houses that were demolished. In my part of the country (Houston, Texas) these shingles are virtually indestructible so far as environmental conditions is concerned. They can be broken, but unlike natural slate or tile, they are resilient enough to walk on without apparent damage.

There are many homes in the older neighborhoods in Houston and other cities in Texas that use this type of roofing. Some use very large shingles laid in a diamond pattern, with half-round ridge and hip shingles. Others take the form of thin shingles, gray, that are very similar to common asbestos siding. Yet others, such as the Supraslate, are 1/4" thick, shaped to resemble natural slate, and laid exactly like natural slate.

I reroofed my home in 1986 using Supradur brand "Supraslate" asbesos-cement slates. On my house, The slates are inch thick and each measures 9 inches wide by 16 inches long. They are laid with 6 inches exposed to the weather, the remaining 9 inches being covered by the slates above, making the roof not less than a half inch thick, and inch thick for the last three inches of each slate. This roof is in perfect condition today, showing no signs of wear or deterioration.