> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Some Help ...
Login | Register

Some Help ...

Posted by Jay J on March 26th, 1999 03:15 PM
In reply to New roof or wait? by Jill on March 26th, 1999 01:42 PM [Go to top of thread]

I'm no expert so what I'm gonna tell you is based on what I've read and personal experience.

There are a number of ways to tell that a shingle roof needs replacing (but not limited to what I have to say). Yes, the age is one thing to consider. BUT, a 20 year shingle could deteriorate sooner if, say, it faces South and gets TONS of sun. A lot of direct sun will break down the singles and shorten their life by a couple of years. On the same token, if you're roof faces East/West, and you get decent shade, your roof's life may be extended by a couple of years. You can also tell if your roof's time is up by making a random inspection up close. If the edges are breaking off because they're dry and brittle, it's time to get a new roof. If they're chipping a little on the corners, then it's time is up in a year or 2. At the same time, if your shingles are soft in the sun, then you've got some time yet. Of course, no matter what the condition of the roof is, if you're leaking water all over the underside of the roof, you're in for bigger problems!