> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > removing old laminate
Login | Register

removing old laminate

Posted by jay brooks on May 24th, 2000 03:01 PM
In reply to Removing Laminate from countertop by Clint Jackson on May 17th, 2000 06:30 PM [Go to top of thread]

5 of 5 people found this post helpful

Hi, I have had a lot of experience with this. There are basically two ways to go if you don't want to have your counters completely re-done from scratch. For both of these you really should remove your sink and the entire counter from the top of the cabinets. This sounds like a lot, but the plumbing all unscrews and the sink (if a standard stainless steel one) is only held on by clips along the under side and by calking. The counter is usually only held on by a few screws going up from the base cabinet corner braces. Even if it was glued down, you should be able to cut through this with a utility knife. Note: It is possible, but not likely, that your counter substrate was built in place and is not easily removed as described above.

The two methods are: Removing the laminate and keeping it and going over it.