> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Ralph Lauren Suede Experience
Login | Register

Ralph Lauren Suede Experience

Posted by Kenny Hoeschen on July 20th, 1999 03:02 PM
In reply to Ralph Lauren Paint by laurie on November 23rd, 1997 03:19 PM [Go to top of thread]

1 of 2 people found this post helpful

Moderator Post:
> Ralph Lauren Paint Help by Handyman on 10/27/2004

I have just finished painting my bedroom with Ralph Lauren Suede paint (doeskin grey). I have never done interior painting before this, my only experience is as a volunteer doing exterior painting in low-income/elderly housing.I'll share my experience, for what it's worth:

I started with a coat of primer, I'm not sure if it was necessary, but I was covering a bright, toothpaste green and thought it would be better with a white undercoat (I really didn't want to end up with doeskin grey with green undertones.)

I taped all the trim and followed the instructions on the RL paint can, along with the hints I've read on this bulletin board. At first, I struggled with the small roller used to cut in along the edges. It took me a while to get it rolling properly (I pulled the sponge roller away from the handle a bit, which helped it roll properly). I had good luck with the 9" roller over the rest of the wall. The paint covers beautifully in one coat. I followed the advice I read here and put the paint on generously. I was also careful to go over the edges to try to minimize the seams and I was sure to do the ceiling-to-floor strokes at the end of each column. My first coat was still a bit uneven, but I didn't get too concerned because I knew I had the second coat coming up.