> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Radiant Flooring + Engineered Flooring + Traditional 3/4" Flooring ...
Login | Register

Radiant Flooring + Engineered Flooring + Traditional 3/4" Flooring ...

Posted by Jay J on August 17th, 2000 07:27 AM
In reply to radiant floor heating by Feza on August 16th, 2000 10:35 PM [Go to top of thread]

For starters, I'm no expert on this but from what I know, 2 'situations' arise.

1) Some Manufacturer Warranties WON'T warrant their hardwood floor systems that are installed directly over a radiant floor system in ANY scenario. This is, generally, because a heat source (radiant heat) that close to a wood surface may foster wharping and such. Wood tends to absorbe and release moisture over time. By adding such a heat source, you will accellerate wharping and aging and so on. This NOT to say that there aren't hardwood systems out there that have 'no problem' with what you want to do. You may just need to read the Installation Instructions AND the Warranty BEFORE you buy the hardwood flooring.

2) Some Manufacturers will allow you to install a radiant heat system BUT you have to follow their guidlines. In this case, as in the previous case, READ the Installation Instructions and Warranty BEFORE you buy the flooring!