> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Prime, Then Paint ...
Login | Register

Prime, Then Paint ...

Posted by Jay J on September 3rd, 1998 08:42 AM
In reply to Wrinkled drywall under paint--please help! by Amy G. on September 1st, 1998 04:16 PM [Go to top of thread]

Sounds like you didn't prime the wall first.

Since paper reacts as you described when it has absorbed water and dried, you need to seal up the wall first so the paper doesn't absorbe the water in the paint. If you're working in the bathroom or any other room with humidity, I suggest an oil based primer, followed by a mildew-resistant paint MEANT to go over the aforementioned primer (ask your paint retailer). If you're painting any other type of room, a latex primer meant to be put directly on wallpaper, followed by a latex top coat, will do the trick. I'm no expert but I put on 2 top coats of paint; not one. The pros can do it all with one top coat.