> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Painting over bathroom tiles-solution
Login | Register

Painting over bathroom tiles-solution

Posted by Pam on March 13th, 2003 08:33 AM
In reply to Painting ceramic tiles in the bathroom by Josh on February 7th, 2003 08:39 PM [Go to top of thread]

As a decorative painter I have heard of many who have painted over tiles with success. Clean tiles well, ammonia works great. If tiles are around tub area be sure they and grout are dry before painting. Apply primer that gives good adhesion to slick surfaces, Bin works great (ammonia based). Again, if tub or shower area I would use alkyd or oil based because they are more durable around water than latex. Finish with polyurathane finish, oil based preferred around the shower or tub. There are also products on the market to add to paint to help resist mildew. I am pondering doing the tiles around the jacuzzi in the master bath. The tiles are fine, just want a color change and cannot afford to spend the money on that right now. Here's what I plan to do to achieve the look of a neutral stone.