> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > My $.02 ...
Login | Register

My $.02 ...

Posted by Jay J -Moderator on September 18th, 2001 09:00 AM
In reply to sump pump runs a lot? by jh on September 17th, 2001 06:57 PM [Go to top of thread]

Hi jh,

Well, water will 'gravitate' along the path of least resistance. And if that is towards your pit, that's where it will go.

I don't think you have an underground stream. They 'exist' in bedrock with 'capillaries' that 'emit' water, again, at paths of least resistance. If you had an underground stream, water in it would have to rise and be FORCED out AND upwards into the ground and eventually towards your pit. I'm no expert on underground streams but I've read about them enough to be 'dangerous'.

From the sounds of it, you might have a sloping problem outside your foundation. You should have a slope of at least 1/4" per foot that's graded AWAY from your foundation, for a distance of at LEAST 3'. If you have relatively flat ground OR if you have soft soil (like a garden where the dirt is 'loose') OR if your downspouts dump their water at the base of your foundation, then all these 'conditions' add to your problem.