> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > I'm doing a chainsaw powered 3 wheeler right now
Login | Register

I'm doing a chainsaw powered 3 wheeler right now

Posted by Jonathan on October 14th, 2002 12:59 AM
In reply to Will it work? by Mitch on July 25th, 2000 12:21 PM [Go to top of thread]

I happened to be searching the internet for this exact topic (using a chainsaw engine to power a moving vehicle).

1) I have a chainsaw engine that runs great
2) I have a 3 wheeler with good suspension and brakes but no engine
3) I've been watching too much Junkyard Wars
4) I'm a computer programmer by trade and want to see if I can do something completely different. That said - I have no business talking about any of this...

Vehicles based on this design (go karts, scooters, etc.) generally do not have a gear box. They have a single gear (ratio). Remember with any single geared vehicle, your top speed is basicaly based on ratios - ratio of the drive sprocket to the axle sprocket - factoring in rear wheel diameter and very importantly the rpms of the engine (or more specifically the output shaft) which determines how fast the chain can rotate. The horsepower of the engine and weight of the vehicle is only important in how fast you can get to your top speed. Remember your old single speed bicycle? You could turn the pedals as fast as you could but you would never seem to really get going that fast compared to your first multi-geared bike. What we're talking about doing with a chainsaw engine is very simple - like a single geared bike. Top speed probably only 20-25mph. If you want an ATV that will do 60+mph get one with a real ATV engine and gearbox.