> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > how to reduce noise transmission
Login | Register

how to reduce noise transmission

Posted by jb on June 8th, 2000 04:41 PM
In reply to homosote for noises, Wonderboard or mud? by Brebda B on June 7th, 2000 08:13 AM [Go to top of thread]

I have done many noise reduction details in my dozens of projects over the years. I am a master carpenter and licensed construction supervisor. I am not a specific expert in matters of sound deadening, but I have some experience in what works and what doesn't. The second half of the reply from Henry titled "noise reduction" is wrong because replacing drywall with homosote will really not make any noticeable difference. If you make a really thick wall there will be less noise, if you attached homosote to the inside of your wall there would be less noise (just a little less) - but these approaches don't get to the heart of the matter. Homosote shouldn't be used outside. It will turn to mush. It isn't too nice inside either. They sometimes use it for large bulletin boards in elementary schools. The commercial website that was in one of the other responses doesn't seem very practical for a do-it yourselfer.