renovateyourworld.com > Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Hmmmm ...
Login | Register

Hmmmm ...

Posted by Jay J -Moderator on December 19th, 2000 01:18 PM
In reply to Slab on Grade by Chris - New Brunswick on December 19th, 2000 11:25 AM [Go to top of thread]

Hi Chris,

Well, for starters, I'm no Doctor BUT I know that it's possible to develop leg, back, neck, nerve, and whatever-else problems if you do a lot of standing on a slab. My Father is a perfect example. He use to be a Type Setter which required 8+ hours a day of standing. BUT, let's see if I can somewhat 'enlighten' you on your options.

I'm sure that a slab is best for what you want to to so you have to ask yourself: Are you going to be doing a lot of STANDING in your house? If so, is the use of 'mats' or runners where you do the standing of any 'benefit' as far as minimizing the aforementioned problems? Depending on how you answer, you might have already answered your own question(s). BUT, if not, read on.

Radiant Floor Systems aren't limited to being installed in slabs. In fact, they are installed ON TOP of wooden subfloors as well as beneath them. This would imply 1) you don't necessarily have to have a slab to do what you want, and 2) that you can install carpeting as your finished floor. What you might want to do is talk to a few sources to gather some information. Talk to your Contractor/Builder about slab vs. wood subfloor (+ carpeting / hardwood finished floor.) And also talk to a Radiant Installer about the same. And a Carpet Installer and a Hardwood installer. I'm sure you'll get the thumbs-up from ALL of these sources but be sure to talk mostly with the Radiant Installer about 'his system' being installed 'under' YOUR finished-floor-of-choice.

Here are some links that may be of use to read:

Radiant System Under Hardwood Flooring NOTE: Your choice of wood is important. Maple is 'unstable'. Engineered flooring may be better. Ask about stability w/your contractor ...