> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > Here is my story
Login | Register

Here is my story

Posted by Moderator, Steve on November 24th, 2002 10:12 AM
In reply to air nailer by Rick on November 24th, 2002 09:10 AM [Go to top of thread]

first, I build decks and arbors and operate as a contractor. I am a hands on contractor that does this myself with some help. But I love driving nails and making lumber into something of beauty.

I drove nails, 16D ringshanked galv into PT wood on a daily basis up until about 8 years ago. I would actually drive about 3000 nails daily taking about 5 hits for a proper 16D nail set. I began getting hammers elbow if you will. I would have trouble some next days lifting a hammer.

I took the suggestion of a friend and purchased a cordless compact model 325 Paslode nail gun. I just finished a 1100 square foot deck that required over 6000 nails and I did not drive one by hand. I have never enjoyed or appreciated a tool like I have this gun. Now, guns are cheap and expensive, but in my opinion you do get what you pay for with guns just like a gallon of paint. So, if your in the market then lay out some bucks for the best.

Now, if you are a occasional home handyman and you will never drive this amount of nails on a ongoing basis, WHY would you want this tool?

You would not unless you are in the regular contest that demands you buy more so that you are in the age old contest that states: The one with the most tools wins.

Here is the nailer downfall, I rely so much on my nailer that nowadays I can hardly drive a nail in the wood by hand.