> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > cinder block foundation
Login | Register

cinder block foundation

Posted by David on January 1st, 2003 10:56 PM
In reply to cinder block foundation by tess donahue on January 1st, 2003 06:57 PM [Go to top of thread]

1 of 1 people found this post helpful

Tess, this issue is not uncommon, but it definitely is something to pay close attention to whether your foundation is block or poured concrete. I am a general contractor, and have specialized background in foundation repairs.

In part the particular problems you may experience will have a lot to do with the soil conditions in your area. Sandier soils have better natural drainage (holding less water) and therefor less foundation problems occur. Soils with a heavy clay content shrink and heave with rain and dry spells, causing lots of costly problems for homeowners to deal with.

I would suggest that you have a reputable home inspector take a look at the home before making any decisions. Be sure to get one that will enter the crawlspace and inspect the entire foundation from the inside; many inspections fail to cover this thoroughly enough.

You should be looking for any signs of heavy dampness or standing water in the crawlspace, and for any signs of motion or movement in the past such as broken mortar joints or visible tilting of the foundation wall.

I personally prefer a solid concrete foundation wall, however, a properly built and maintained cinder block foundation is no reason to pass up a good home.