> Ask a Question > Fix It Forum > A Start ...
Login | Register

A Start ...

Posted by Jay J on October 2nd, 1998 08:51 AM
In reply to Mildew smell in old house by Bob Correa on October 1st, 1998 12:38 PM [Go to top of thread]

I'm no expert on this but I can get your started.

You didn't mention anything about a basement or crawlspace. These 2 are the majority sources of where water enters the home and creates all kinds of problems, one of which is mold and mildew. Assuming you have one (or both, which I have both in my home), long-standing water isn't necessary to start this process. As water evaporates, it needs to collect on something unless it's actively removed before it has a chance to evaporate. If you have a crawlspace with either dirt or concrete, simply lay down a sheet of 4 mil plastic that's about 4' square. Tape or weight the sides down to trap the moisture for your test. If after a couple of days or so, you see moisture on the underneath side, well, you've found 1 source of the moisture -> mold/mildew 'smell'. You can take this step further by duct taping the same plastic on the wall(s) of your basement/crawlspace (all 4 of them) to see if there's moisture transpiring there. (And be liberal in the number of plastic 'squares' you put up. You're NOT limited to 1 per wall.) Be sure to tape ALL 4 sides of the plastic so you trap any moisture on the underneath side. In all cases, you don't need to wait for a rain. If you have moisture on a dry day, chances are you'll have MORE on a wet one. If you find that doing this type of testing doesn't fruit any results, start looking 'up' to see if there is any residual mold/mildew in the floor insulation, starting in the basement & crawlspace. It could be on the joists or underneath-side of the sub-floor as well.